Getting My Spider-Man On!

blog-challenge-badge-12

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 4

Written by Robin Kelley Harp

I must admit that the idea of “unlocking my superpowers” was a very foreign topic to me! What does that really mean? Do I even have such powers? While the first thing that came to mind was a picture of Spider-Man climbing up the facade of a building, I knew that I needed to dig deeper for my answers. I have a favorite bookmark that really says it all for me! It states my belief that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” As a Christian, we have unlimited power through Jesus! That power and deep faith keep me going when all else fails!

Reflecting on what I am actually good at brings to mind several ideas. One of the things that I have always been told by others is that I am a good listener and can “read between the lines” in a conversation. I usually have a way of knowing how someone is truly feeling about something despite the words they use. I call this intuition, or discernment. I believe that this is a good trait to have, especially as a weight loss coach.

Another “superpower” or gift that I have, I believe, is the power to motivate others! With my disease of Sarcoidosis, I have good days and bad days but try to remain upbeat through it all! I also enjoy being a bright spot that helps to inspire people around me. For example, I have always been the go-to person in my family when someone needed a sounding board or a safe place. This also serves well for my business niche. I understand the challenges of being a disabled person with 100 pounds to lose. Believe me, if I can do this, anyone can–and that’s what I hope to express to my clients! So possibly for me, the best superpower of all is that I am just your average person who’s been battling in the trenches but shows up to win!

Leave a Reply

