Popsicles and Laughter!

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 8

Written by Robin Kelley Harp

My mini-adventure for the day involved surrounding myself with family! My niece and her family, who live out of town, were visiting with my mother today. I decided to take my teenage daughter Alexis and my 7-year-old grandson Dylan (my middle daughter’s son) down to my mothers to join in the fun! My middle daughter Melissa and her boyfriend were there, as well as my other two nieces. It was definitely a full house! A full house of love! We started the day with pizza for lunch and vegged on snacks for the rest of the day! All of the kids indulged in many popsicles and good times! They don’t get to see each other that often, but enjoyed jumping rope and blowing bubbles outside–while the adults chatted indoors.

This day was so much more than just family fun! For me, it was so much deeper! It was one of those days when I was able to be authentically me! My niece Jerrica and I talked about some issues that I never get to discuss with anyone else. I can only hope that once my business is successful, that I will be able to convince her to move nearby and become my assistant! She is so great at accepting my feelings–even if they’re way out there–without being judgmental. I seriously need this, as I am facing some potential major life changes. My precious daughter/assistant/companion Alexis will be going off to college in less than 2 years. I’m still not sure how I’m going to handle that one!

Just wanted to shout out a thank you to Natalie Sisson and her blog challenge for suggesting this day, and to all those who participated in making my family day a mini-adventure! You all bring such joy to my life!

Leave a Reply

